My Herbs Garden and a Basil-Butter Recipe

2 Oct

I’ve been really enjoying a small piece of garden we got in our house, although it’s not big and although we’re still renting, I put some time and effort to make the garden beautiful and useful so we could enjoy it (also with a lot of help from my father who has gardening experience after creating a beautiful garden in my parents’ house).

Herbs are one of the easiest thing to grow and can also grow indoors or on the balcony and the best thing about them is they’re also edible.

So, most of my garden is planted with herbs, together with some flowers and a small limequat tree in a pot, and we have a big olive tree in our garden that the landlord planted. I’ve planted a lot of my plants in pots so they’ll be mobile. Then I also took some branches from some of the herbs and grew them at home.

Here are a few pictures for you to enjoy and for me to show off.

Happy sage:

Hyssop and lemon verbena, the hyssop is easy to grow in our kind of climate and the lemon verbena is also doing very well in my garden:

Lemon verbena, rosemary, some more sage, and flowers:

Another look at the lemon verbena:

I just recently decided to grow basil, as it attracts a lot of bugs and I thought it was more fragile, but meanwhile it’s doing great as you can see. In the background is the mint I planted, which is just growing all over the place, it’s very strong and aggressive:

The basil:

If you were wondering, this is the dragon of Krakow sitting in my garden 🙂

Now a look indoor, near the kitchen window where there’s a lot of sunlight almost all day long, a lemon geranium is growing in a jar (tastes good in tea or cold water):

Rosemary also growing nicely in a jar:

More happy mint:

And, this is not a herb, but a sweet potato in a jar:

It is ready to be planted in soil:

And now it’s happy outside:

The limequat is starting to give fruits.

That’s it for now, a glimpse to our small garden.

For the Basil-Butter Recipe:

Ingredients:

– About 100 gr butter – softened

– 2 cloves of garlic- crushed

– Zest from half a lemon

– A bunch of fresh basil – chopped

– Coarse sea salt

– Grounded pepper

Preparation:

– Mix all the ingredients well and voila you got yourself a garlic-basil-butter.

The butter can be spread on bread and put in the toaster-oven to make a garlic bread, or just spread on a hot homemade bun (below), or used as a base for cream pasta sauce.

6 Responses to “My Herbs Garden and a Basil-Butter Recipe”

  1. Yaniv October 2, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    “Zest…” I bet only you and 10 other people in the world know this word.

  2. Yaniv October 2, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    And it’s a beautiful garden, of course. 🙂

  3. Julia Moran Martz November 9, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    BTW, I’ve noticed that some basil doesn’t seem to attract bugs like other basils. The Thai basil for instance, has never had white flies but the big shiny lettuce type basil was full of them in the garden.

    • blogergal November 9, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

      Thanks, I’ll look for it.

  4. Debra October 31, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    The pics of your herbs are beautiful and just goes to show that anyone regardless of experience and knowledge can grow herbs. I especially likes the pic of your sweet potato. Something I myself haven’t tried to grow but I thinks I will next season. Thanks for showing me just how easy it is.

Leave a comment